Most Disliked Person!

10550949_808045549227091_2634149148665586049_n

I recently came across this photograph – and immediately had very bad vibes! Why? Well, because this is Mr. McGibbon, my old maths master in Dynevor School.

He was a right nasty piece of work! Today, he would have been hauled before a court for what he did to me one day. I’ll tell you what happened.

It was near the end of term, and he was going over our test papers – which had been completed, marked, and given back to us. Now, I have to admit that a). I was not very good at algebra; b). Had not done at all well in the test, and c). I seldom completed the set homework. So, all-in-all, he didn’t like me.

Anyway, as was customary at the end of term, the teachers allowed us to do some ‘reading’ instead of having lessons, and so it was that day. One or two of the lads asked him about one of the questions on the test paper and he began explaining it to them. I, and the rest of the class, carried on reading. Well! He must have literally crept up behind me and, with all his force, smashed the back of my head with his flat hand. This knocked my head forward onto the desktop, and I was ‘knocked out’!

Without a single word, he went back to his desk and carried on as though nothing had happened. My macho pride would not allow me to show how hurt I was, and, totally stunned, I sat through the remainder of the lesson.

Needless to say, when he left the room, all the boys came over to see if I was alright, and that was the end of that. Except that, ever since, I have been hoping that one day, our paths would again cross!!!!! Too late now, of course, as that happened in 1954, but the photograph did bring things back to me!

10574416_806522009379445_5599165760572432629_n

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

